Cookie Dough You Can Eat

I love eating cookie dough. YUM! I’m not a huge freak about the raw egg, but it’s better safe than sorry! And, I have an irrational fear of vomit. So throwing up + me = complete panic attack. I once ate some pasta sauce that I didn’t know had mold on the lid and went crazy because I thought it would make me throw up. Not get really sick or die, but throw up. So… if raw egg can potentially make you barf, then no thank you.

My sister found a recipe on Pinterest for colorful sugar cookies using the Betty Crocker cookie dough mix. In the process of making them, I thought the mix would be the perfect thing to make cookie dough without raw egg!! (The sugar ones were good, by the way! Unfortunately, we already ate them all or I would take a picture.)

This is ACTUAL COOKIE DOUGH! Not something that tastes like cookie dough, but isn’t. However, I’m not sure how it would bake.

(Source)

There are only 3 ingredients to make the actual cookies. (These are listed on the back of the mix.)

The mix itself, 1 stick of butter, and 1 egg. You mix them together, drop on baking sheet, and cook. Done.

So, I just eliminated the egg. I put the mix and the softened butter into my Kitchenaid mixer and let it go to town. Without the egg in there, the mix kinda flies everywhere, so make sure you start out mixing slow. You could use a hand held mixer, but oddly enough, we don’t have one of those. When it was completely mixed, I thought it still seemed a little powdery. I wanted the cookie dough texture too! So, I just added a tablespoon or two of milk and let it mix back up. That made it so much better! Then, I put it in a plastic baggie and popped it in the fridge. We have been eating on it all week! It tastes just like it was made the right way! And, we don’t have to feel guilty or worry…. except for maybe about the calories. :S

COOKIE DOUGH YOU CAN EAT RECIPE:

1 Package Betty Crocker Cookie Dough Mix, any flavor

1 Stick of butter, softened (not melted- let it sit on the counter for a while)

2 Tbs milk (More or less depending on how it looks/feels… You could also probably also use a Tbs of vegetable oil.)

Mix ingredients together well! Serve cold.

Hope you enjoy! I will try to be back later with another sort of Fourth of July post.

2 thoughts on “Cookie Dough You Can Eat

  1. You can also use water in place of milk! Nedra Boitnott has a recipe for cookie dough you can eat in our church cookbook, too! 🙂 Don’t you just love the stuff you can find on Pinterest?

Leave a Reply

